Baked Mint Chocolate Chip Doughnuts


One day at work we started talking about doughnuts. I don’t remember how the conversation started or how it ended up this way but I started thinking about a mint chocolate chip doughnut. Of course a quick Google search gave me a plethora of options. I settled on this recipe, mostly because it was one of the first ones to pop up and I had most of the ingredients. Actually, all I had to get was the mini chocolate chips although I could have used regular. You can read the recipe here

Now, a mint chocolate chip doughnut might seem a little odd but the flavor combination works (obviously) and putting it into doughnut form didn’t really change anything. Plus it was close to St. Patrick’s Day so making these that morning worked out. 

This recipe made 12 and I had a little extra batter left. I could have added it to the pan but I was trying to keep with the instructions of only doing the spot 2/3 full and I had already filled it more than that. 

There isn’t an amount listed for the green food coloring so use what you feel is needed to get the green color you want. I used some gel food coloring and tried to stay on the pale green side of things. 

For the mint flavor, it wasn’t overpowering so if you really want mint you should add more extract. The chocolate glaze worked well but I ran out as I was a little over zealous on the first few I did. But that was okay. 

Overall these were pretty good. Maybe not something I would make all the time but they fit well with theme for the day. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

