Creamy Gnocchi with Mushrooms


I’m going to start this post a little backwards and tell you right away that this was good and I would recommend it. However, I have a couple of thoughts on it. First off, it wasn’t as creamy as I thought it would be. From my perspective, the sauce should have been thicker – more creamy than it was. Maybe there could be a little cornstarch thrown in to thicken it or it could have simmered longer to further reduce the liquid. Also, this did not make a lot. For a family of four, two being younger kids, this barely made it for all of us. I think the fact that you use “one pound” of gnocchi is a little deceiving as it isn’t really that much. Big difference in quantity of one pound of gnocchi and one pound of pasta. So, keep that in mind. 

Now, his recipe comes from the website Cook’s Country and I can definitely say you need a membership to access it. This time I tried leaving the website open and it let me, but then one day it had shut itself off and was telling me I needed an account. Luckily I could pull it up on another device and take a few screen shots. I’ve listed the recipe and instructions below. 

I did make a few changes, mainly cutting the amount of mushrooms in half; and then using sliced mini bellas as the type. I did that because I knew it wouldn’t be a hit with the kids and I didn’t want to eat a pile of mushrooms. As it stood anyway, I ate my fair share of mushrooms. I added a second tablespoon of butter to the mushrooms as they seemed to be cooking yet, starting to stick to the pan a bit. Lastly, I skipped the basil. 

So, as I mentioned, this was good but if you have a group to feed, I might suggest doubling the recipe. 

  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable broth 
  • 2 ounces grated Parmesan cheese (about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 pound vacuum packed gnocchi 
  • 1 pound cremini mushrooms, trimmed and quartered 
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, torn into pieces

Whisk broth, Parmesan, cream, nutmeg, and pepper in a bowl and set aside. 

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet over medium high heat. Add gnocchi and cook until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate. 

Melt remaining butter in the skillet and add the mushrooms and salt and cook until golden brown, about 10 minutes. Stir in garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Add gnocchi and broth mixture to pan and bring to a simmer. Cook, stirring occasionally, until sauce has thickened, about 5-7 minutes. Sprinkle with basil and serve. 

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

