Simple Stovetop Macaroni and Cheese


I am a fan of macaroni and cheese but always wanted to go beyond the box. When I found a recipe I was happy with to make macaroni and cheese, I thought I was set. Then I found that I wasn’t making it as much since there was a decent amount of work involved in getting the sauce made, baking it, etc.  so I don’t make it as often as I’d like. Then I found this recipe that is, as it states in the name, a simple stovetop recipe. I had to try it. You can read the recipe here

It truly loved up to its name and, I’m proud to say, that it took me about as long as said it would take (20 minutes) from start to finish. That made it even better. 

I will admit I was a little leery of making it with the American cheese since I can be something of a cheese snob but it worked really well. And it tasted great so, there’s that. 

The only thing inchanges was using some spicy brown mustard in place of the Dijon as I was out of Dijon. And regular yellow. It worked fine but I’m sure the Dijon would be better. 

The bread crumbs could probably be left out. It makes it look super fancy but the effort there, while not a lot, wasn’t really worth it. I put some on mine and a little bit on the bowls for the kids. They didn’t say anything then but a couple of days later when they asked about having macaroni and cheese again, they asked for no bread crumbs. Which was fine since that time we used a box. If you do go with the bread crumbs, I would recommend letting the bread crumbs cool before adding the Parmesan. It would up melting and I had globs of the bread crumbs instead of something to easily sprinkle over the top. 

All in all, I definitely recommend this recipe and will be keeping some American cheese in the fridge to be able to make this any time we want. 

This entry was posted in Cheese, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

