Queso Fundido con Chorizo 


With our schedule lately, I haven’t been able to do as much cooking as I normally would have but the Super Bowl last weekend afforded me the opportunity to make a few things. One was this cheese dip. I’ve had this recipe saved, as screen shots, for about four months. I’m not really sure why I had screen shots of the recipe as it was a Food Network recipe and this morning I went and found it online. You can read it here

So, I think his turned out pretty well although I will say that there is something to be said for having everything ready to go (everything prepped) when you start to cook. This turned out a little darker than I had hoped but it was due to some of it sticking and browning since I wasn’t fully prepared for each step. 

I will also say that I think I didn’t have either enough onion or enough fat/oil with the onion. When I put the flour in there just wasn’t enough “stuff” to soak up the flour and it certainly didn’t “turn golden”. Which led me to pour the beer in sooner since I was worried that it was all just going to burn/stick to the pan. There was practically zero fat from the chorizo so I did have to add oil. I added a tad bit more at some point as well. I also added more beer as I felt it wasn’t coming together very well. 

Other than what I just mentioned (adding a bit more of some things) the only change was the type of beer I used. Instead of buying what they suggested I used what I had in the fridge which was Spotted Cow. 

Overall, this turned out pretty good. It tasted good at least. Since I was kind of “pre-making” this for a party we were going to, I needed up putting it in a small crockpot to keep warm. That worked well. It also isn’t too bad from a “leftover” standpoint as not much got eaten. Not because anyone didn’t like it but the crockpot got lost with the other crockpots off to the side. We had a lot of food for how many people (few people) were there. Oh, and it has a bit of a kick (chorizo and jalapeño) but it’s not too bad. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cheese and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

