Quiche with Ham and Potato


Breakfast is sometimes hit or miss in our house. Not the eating of, that always happens, but the meals made. Every so often I venture out beyond the normal and sometimes it goes over well and sometimes I get told to stick to a “normal” breakfast. But that’s okay. It’s good to try new things. How else will you know what you truly like and don’t like? Anyway, I thought I’d give this recipe a try. You can read it here

I will admit that I was a little skeptical over putting potatoes in this but it worked out. I did make some changes to the recipe, around the potatoes and the ham. For the ham, I used regular ham. It was easier and quicker (and maybe cheaper as it was on sale) to grab a package of regular ham than it was to run around trying to find country ham. For the potatoes, I used regular russet potatoes. Again, easier as I had some of those at home than it was to buy more of a different kind. I think it worked fine. 

The cooking method for the potatoes was a little different – poaching in oil. It took longer than it called for to get the potatoes to where they were soft. I had to turn the heat up a bit more towards he end to get it to bubble and cook. But, once it started bubbling it did not take long for them to get soft. 

Overall, this was good. I think the Gouda (smoked in my case) really worked well and was a good flavor. Everyone else liked it so it worked to try something new. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, Pork, Potato and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

