Maple Sausage Featherbead Eggs


I decided to try this recipe because of the ingredients. Namely, the cornbread being used instead of regular bread. The recipe comes from the Cook’s Country website. I don’t have a link to the recipe as (I’ve mentioned this before) sometimes I can access the website and sometimes I cannot (errors out needing a password). So, I took screen shots of the recipe. I’ll outline it below But you can look it up if you want. 

I’m having a hard time deciding if I like this or not. My didn’t like it, she thought it was too sweet. My youngest didn’t like it (but didn’t articulate why). My oldest wasn’t there so I may need to have her try it to see. For me, I’m about 50/50 on it. Some bites I liked it and others I didn’t. I think the issue for me is the cornbread. It’s just different. And that’s throwing off the flavor for me. But it’s not so bad that we pitched the rest. I’ll eat it. 

For the recipe, it’s a pretty “standard” egg casserole but with cornbread. The first step is making the cornbread. I’m not going to write out the recipe for the cornbread. It’s pretty standard. I would recommend using whatever you are comfortable with. But I will say that this one had a little cayenne in it which I skipped. Now, the other thing with the cornbread is that it calls for it to be stale. To do that, it says to cook it in a flat, rimmed baking sheet. This dries it out a bit while you cook it and leaves you with a rather thin layer of cornbread. I dot know that I liked that. While it works and makes it easier (quicker) I think I would recommend making the cornbread like normal, tearing it up into pieces and then letting it get stale (even if you put it in the oven to dry it out). It seems like it would be better that way. 

For the egg mixture, the recipe is below. I made a change with the cheese, using a mixture of (mostly) mild cheddar and some Monterey Jack. I did leave out the salt on accident. And I left out the scallions as I forgot to put them on my grocery list. 

  • 1 pound cooked breakfast sausage links
  • 10 ounces shredded sharp cheddar cheese (2 1/2 cups)
  • 6 scallions sliced thin
  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Cut the sausage links into half inch pieces. Mix the cornbread, sausage, scallions, and 1 1/2 cups cheese together and place in a greased 9×13 pan. Whisk the eggs, milk, 1/2 cup syrup, and salt together. Pour over the cornbread mixture. Sprinkle with the last cup of cheese. 

This then needs to sit overnight in the fridge (it says 6-24 hours). It says the cover it with plastic wrap and then weigh it down with zip lock bags filled with sugar or rice. I didn’t do that. It didn’t seem necessary once it was all together. I pushed on it to make sure it was all in the egg mixture but I just covered the pan as usual and put it in the fridge. 

The next morning, heat the oven to 325 degrees and bake for 50-60 minutes. I did it for the 60 minutes. It was a little browned on the top but okay. It doesn’t say to drizzle it with the last tablespoon of maple syrup. I didn’t do that, which maybe was good as my wife already thought it was too sweet. 

I can’t say that I definitely recommend this but you’re obviously free to try whatevery you want. I do make the suggestion to make the cornbread different, as noted. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

