Oat-rageous Chocolate Chip Cookies


While I continue to tell myself that there shouldn’t be piles of cookies in the house. And I just got rid of the last of the cookies from Christmas – you know, the ones that never got eaten and are hard as a rock. Here we go again with another cookie recipe. Making these though were part of a food day at work for someone’s birthday. Plus I had heard that these type of cookies (oatmeal/chocolate chip) were the favorite cookie of a few people in my area. So I went searching for a recipe. 

I stuck with what I had for cookbooks, looking primarily at some of the old church cookbooks we had. In the third one, I found this recipe which was interesting, if for nothing else, because of the name. The cookbook was from St. John’s Lutheran in Berlin, WI. They have several cookbooks so to be specific, this was the one that was in the small, blue binder with a picture of a church on the cover (but not their church). 

I’m not sure that I agree with the name since there isn’t that much oatmeal in it but hey, it makes it a bit more fun. I did not make any changes except to add a little more chocolate chips. When I weighed out the chips, the bag which was already open had a little over 8 ounces. I decided to use them all. Hindsight says maybe I shouldn’t have but more chocolate seemed okay. 

I baked these for 11 minutes and they got a little brown on the tops while still staying somewhat soft. I found leaving them on the pan to cook a bit helped firm them up more before moving them to a wire rack. One of the first ones I tried to move fell apart. The recipe said to drop them by teaspoonfuls which seemed really small. I used my smaller scoop, which I think is about a tablespoon and I think it worked really well. I got just shy of four dozen (42) doing that way. Some where a little bigger so I think saying this makes four dozen cookies is probably accurate. 

From a taste perspective, they were good. I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal cookies but I think they will go over pretty well. Here is the recipe. 

  • 1/2 cup (one stick) butter, softened 
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter 
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all purpose flour 
  • 1/2 cup quick cook oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips 

In a mixing bowl cream together butter, sugars, and peanut butter. Beat in egg and vanilla. Combine flour, oats, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl. Add the the creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls (or tablespoon) onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. 

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oat-rageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Gimme! How amazing do those look! It’s going in my recipe book!

Leave a Reply

