Taco Soup


I’m sharing two pictures again, as it was easier to share the recipe this way. With the exception of needing to cook the beef, this is very much a simple “dump and heat” type of recipe. It was really quick and easy for a weeknight. 

A couple of thoughts. Firs, I made a tweak where I used frozen corn instead of canned (measuring by filling an empty can with the corn). Second, I made another tweak by not using tomatoes with green chiles. As with most recipes, I try to keep the spicy-ness to a minimum. I used another can of tomatoes. I also used 1.5 pounds of ground beef as I had a half pound leftover from the meatballs I made recently. 

Overall, this was pretty good but it wasn’t a strong taco flavor. It didn’t help that it looks a lot like chili which I think throws off your perception and then taste. One of the kids said it tasted like chili and other said it was a taco. My additions of the cheese, sour cream, and crushed tortilla chips helped a little towards making it more like a taco. 

If I were to do this again, I’d make the following changes. I would cook the ground beef with the taco seasoning just like you would if you were making tacos. I think that would help boost the flavor instead of it just getting mixed into the pot. I would also maybe suggest cutting one of the cans of tomatoes. It was a lot of tomatoes. And I’m not just saying that because I’m not a big tomato fan. After dumping the third can of tomatoes in, it seemed to be mostly tomatoes. 

So, overall, worth a try but it needs a little something extra to bring out the taco flavor. 

This entry was posted in Beef, Soup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

