Waffles


After what I will affectionately call the “2017 New Years Day Waffle Fiasco” (not really, it was massively frustrating) I decided that I needed a new waffle iron. While the batter may have been part of the problem, the waffle iron just took way too long to make the waffles and the green light would pop on and off seemingly randomly. The first time it would come on, the waffles would be no where near ready. 

So, new waffle iron. I searched for “best waffle irons” and found a list of the top five for 2016. This one (the one I bought), was listed as the “best bang for your buck” and then was about half off online. Reading through the reviews, pretty much everyone was happy with it. So away we went. 

Now, I will say that I am happy with it and it worked well but I wish it were a tad bigger and a tad deeper. This makes some pretty thin waffles. But it works. And we don’t have waffles all that often so I can probably deal with it. I purposely did not look for a Belgium waffle iron but maybe that is the next purchase. 

Since my standard waffle batter could have also been an issue, when I made these waffles I used the recipe out of the instructions that come with it. It was good, pretty basic. But then, that’s about all I was looking for. 

I was surprised however, that it was pretty close to to my standard pancake recipe. My pancake recipe calls for twice as much baking powder and salt but a little less oil. I may have to just try that recipe. It might be interesting as the pancakes do fluff up quite a bit. 

I got 8 waffles out of this recipe.which is what the recipe said I would get. It said to use about a half a cup of batter per waffle. I found that a little less works best. A full half cup had it coming out the sides. Oh and while this has 5 settings, it recommends #3. I found that #4 was a bit better but it only matters for the bottom plate. The top of the waffle (when you open it up) looked the same on 3 and 4. 

Here is the recipe – 

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup milk
  • 6 tablespoons oil
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waffles

  1. tanya2austin says:

    I have that waffle iron! Though I invariably have to put it to setting 4 or 5 to get my waffles fully browned, which is kind of annoying. Are there really people out there who like pale, flabby waffles? I’m going to post a waffle recipe soon– mine are yeast-raised!

Leave a Reply

