Bacon Potato Corn Chowder


As I continue to work my way (slowly) through the December 2015 issue of Taste of Home, this recipe caught my eye for two reasons. One, it has bacon and two, it would be a good one to make during the winter. You can read the recipe here

This turned out really well. Great flavor and fairly easy to put together. I didn’t make any changes although I overestimated the amount this was going to make. I used a really big pot to cook the potatoes and then used my large dutch oven to cook the bacon and put it all together. 

Speaking of the potatoes, I weighed out a little more than 1.5 pounds knowing that taking the peels off would reduce the weight. I had about four medium to large size potatoes. Oh, and they were normal russet potatoes. I guess that is maybe a change. Either way, I peeled them and diced them small. I was going for bite sized. This would help in two ways. First, it would be easier to eat and second, it would help them cook quicker. I followed the directions on cooking the potatoes, leaving them in for the 10 minutes. This was done because, one, the potatoes were smaller and would cook quicker and two, I knew the chowder would end up simmering for awhile while I waited for some people to get home. This would mean that the potatoes could cook more then. 

The chowder is a little darker in color than I would have liked it to be. That is a result of the bacon and bacon drippings browning (blackening) on the bottom of the dutch oven and then getting scrapped up and incorporated into the chowder. If I were to do this over again, I would change the pots, pans, etc. I used. I went way to big with the Dutch oven for what I ended up with. However, I could have cooked he bacon in one skillet and transferred the drippings to the Dutch oven to then cook the onions and add everything else. That would have saved the color. 

Overall, I recommend this. The girls both liked it. I think my wife would have liked it but she was gone that night and a little upset that I “made good food” while she was not going to be home. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Potato, Soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bacon Potato Corn Chowder

  1. Pingback: Bacon Potato Corn Chowder — A Casual Foodie’s Blog | Foodfhonebook

Leave a Reply

