Brown Sugar Cookies


This is the last cookie recipe I made over the Christmas season. There isn’t much about this that screams “Christmas” but hey, the cookies made don’t always have to be Christmas themed. Plus, these sounded very interesting. You can read the recipe here

So, this recipe starts out with an explanation of what they were trying to do. Which was basically create a cookie that tasted like brown sugar. And I have to say that they succeeded. I mean, holy cow, these are sugary. Actually I have to be honest and say that my first thought, eating one shortly after they came out of the oven, was “wow, these are awesome”. It was later when I ate one again that I had the thought of how sugary they are. And honestly, it’s almost too sugary. It is truly like eating brown sugar. 

So…they are good and bad. I’ll have to figure out the best way to eat these as I’m not sure by themselves will work. 

I didn’t make any changes to the recipe. I will say that since my portioning skills are lacking, I weighed the dough and then weighed out equal amounts for 24 total cookies. It worked out pretty well. I was always within about .01 ounces of the right weight. The last cookie was a little smaller but that was okay. I used the same baking sheet as I only have one big one and just portioned the second batch on parchment paper and slid it on the sheet after the first batch was done. 

As it said you needed to be careful to not over bake these, I went on the low end of the baking time, 12 minutes, and rotated the sheet halfway through. All in all, these worked pretty well. They are just really sugary. But that’s the point, right?

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

