Apple Crunch


The other day I needed to make a dessert as we had some family coming over for lunch. I wanted to make something apple related as I was digging through the freezer and found a bunch more bags of apples. While I have made my share of apple pies and cobblers and whatnot, I wanted something different. Or rather, a different recipe. I first started to go to the internet but then I decided that I could find something in a cook book that I already had. I have quite a few including a few church cookbooks. I turned to one of them figuring there had to be some kind of apple dessert in there. The one I turned to was Recipes & Rememberances from St. John’s Lutheran Church in Berlin, WI. It is the one in a small blue binder and it says it is copyright 2000. 

In it I found two recipes for apples Crunch and picked one. I’ll outline the recipe below. I made one change and that was to use 5 cups of apples as that is what was in the bag I had. I also chose to use an 11×8 pan. It didn’t say a pan size. That size worked perfectly. A 9×13 would have been too big (in my opinion). 

  • 4 cups apples, sliced
  • 4 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon 
  • 3 tablespoon flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (one stick) butter, melted
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease pan.

Place apples in pan. Combine brown sugar, cinnamon, and flour. Sprinkle over fruit. For the topping, beat the egg. Combine egg with remaining ingredients except the butter. Spread over fruit. Drizzle butter over the top. Bake for 45 minutes. 

This was great. I’ll be honest that I was skeptical about the egg and it took awhile to get it all mixed in. But it formed a very nice, crunchy topping. This is definitely going to be made again. In fact, this may be new “go to” for an apple crisp/crunch dish. 

This entry was posted in Apples, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

