Raspberry Ricotta Cake


I keep telling myself that one of the best ways to eat healthier is to quit making desserts at home. After all, if it’s not there to eat in the first place you….. But, then I still do things like this. Don’t get me wrong, this was a good dessert but I ask myself, was it really necessary?  Now, I’m not going to get into that debate but I will say that he’s, it was kind of necessary. See, I found this recipe and thought it perfect as I had a container of ricotta that needed to be used up. And I didn’t want to just end up throwing it away like the last container of leftover ricotta that had turned into some weird science experiment. 

But I digress. The point is that this “worked out” to make yet I feel a little guilty for making it. And we are coming up on Christmas which means more desserts (cookies). But I have told myself that I’m not going to go overboard like the last two years. But we shall see. 

Now, for this recipe, it was really good. I didn’t make any changes to it and even went out and got frozen red raspberries. I did have a bag of frozen berries, which included red raspberries, that I almost just used but chose to go the “correct” way. I did add the berries at the end and mixed it for a few seconds with the stand mixer. It didn’t crush the berries so the end result was still the large berries spread throughout the cake. And speaking of that, they did stay pretty well through the cake as opposed to sinking to the bottom. I was pretty happy about that. 

I baked this for 50 minutes to start as you can always add time. It was done at 50 minutes. I let it cool and it came out of the pan really well. I can’t say that the parchment paper in the pan really helped as it actually stayed in the pan but it certainly didn’t hurt anything. 

I would recommend this recipe, whether you have leftover ricotta or not. 

This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

