Travison’s Shepherds Pie


Recently I found that we had this little recipe book- Traditional Holiday Celebrations: Recipes & Inspiration for a Festive Christmas. I have no idea where it came from or how long we’ve had it. But I started flipping through it and and came across this recipe. Which was fortuitous as we still had some leftover mashed potatoes that needed to be used up. 

Since I don’t have a link to a website, I’ll outline the recipe and then tell you what I did differently. 

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 cup frozen baby beans
  • 1 cup frozen baby carrots
  • 1 cup frozen whole kernel corn
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 cup fresh mushrooms, slices
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, untrained
  • 1 (12 ounce) jar beef gravy
  • 2 tablespoon chili sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups leftover mashed potatoes
  • 2 teaspoons Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • Paprika 

Brown beef and onions. Add garlic and cook for another minute. Drain well. Stir in frozen vegetables, mushrooms, tomatoes, gravy, chili sauce, basil, and pepper. Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Spoon beef mixture into greased 8″ square baking dish (or 2 quart baking dish). In a small bowl, whisk egg until beaten. Mix egg with the mashed potatoes, spoon over the beef mixture. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until beef mixture is bubbly. Sprinkle with paprika if desired. 

I made a few changes. Partly, okay mostly, because I hadn’t read the recipe close enough and didn’t buy all the ingredients I needed. And of course I wanted to make it now so I could wait a day or two and go to the store. So, here is what I changed or adjusted. 

I did get the vegetables but all I did was buy a one pound bag of mixed vegetables. It had everything it called for and I figured that I would measure it out and if I was short on the four total cups, I would add more corn (that we already had). Happily, the bag had just about four cups and I decided I didn’t need to add anything else. I forgot the mushrooms so those were out. I looked to see if we had any of those little cans of mushrooms in the house but we did not. I also didn’t buy any gravy. So, I mixed 1 1/4 cups chicken broth with cornstarch to create my own. It worked so-so. I never felt like it really thickened how I wanted it to (I was hearing it on the stove) so it maybe added to the runny-ness of the dish. Plus it was chicken rather than beef (although I’m a little less worried about that). 

For the potatoes, well, I ended up making instant. The potatoes from Thanksgiving had gone bad. I used what we had which was a bag of instant baby reds. Ultimately, it said it made about 2 cups total so I had less than I needed. It did cover it just fine but having some more would have been nice. For the cheese, I used a micro plane grater on the block of Parmesan and evenly covered the top of the potatoes. Probably used more than it called for. And lastly, I didn’t add any paprika at the end. 

So….overall this was okay. It wasn’t “awesome” or a “great” meal. It actually could have used a bit more flavor (IMO) and maybe it would have if I would have used the mushrooms and beef gravy. I also thought it to be a bit runny. I might suggest draining the tomatoes to lose some of the liquid. Then again, maybe it wouldn’t have been that way if I would have used the right gravy. 

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole, Potato, Vegetable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

