Turkey Pot Pie


Believe it or not (I didn’t really believe it) I only had 3-4 pounds of turkey leftover. Which meant that after measuring out what I needed for this recipe, I had about enough left for the second round of the turkey salad and – no more leftover turkey. It was nice to not have to freeze any and have to remember it was there. But I digress. 

I will say that this recipe was inspired by a recipe for Moravian Chicken Pie that was from the website Cooks Country. I had saved the recipe to make itself but then decided I could adapt it for the leftover turkey. Now, I didn’t save a link to the recipe. Sometimes when I follow a link to that website I get a pop up that I have to be a member of the website and sometimes I don’t. This time I didn’t but I took some quick screenshots of the recipe in case when I came back to it, it would let me see it. 

The gist of the recipe is cooking chicken breasts and thighs in broth, turning the broth into gravy, and combining some of the gravy with the chicken (shredded) in the pie crusts. Oh, and making the crust from scratch. All good, and what I was going to do. But leftovers made it easier. 

Here is what I did. I cheated and used premade pie crust. It was simpler. I weighed out about 25 ounces of leftover turkey (around what they said to use for chicken). I shredded it and combined it with about two cups of leftover gravy and two cups of vegetables- peas and corn). The vegetables were my addition. It seemed odd to just have chicken (or turkey) without anything else. 

I assembled the pie over lunch and out it in the fridge. When it was time for dinner, I didn’t let it come to room temperature or anything but I did bake it according to their directions. It went in at 450 degrees for 18-20 minutes and then 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes. 

It wasn’t overly bubbly but since everything was cooked in it to begin with I wasn’t worried about how it would be. Plus it was plenty hot. Overall, this was pretty good. There was a lot of flavor and most of that came from using the gravy leftover from Thanksgiving. And there wasn’t anything fancy about that. I just poured off the drippings from the turkey and heated it up with some cornstarch to thicken it. I didn’t separate the fat or anything. It was a decent use for the leftover turkey. 

This entry was posted in Turkey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

