Apple Cheddar Rosemary Beignets 


Thanksgiving at for my side of the family usually takes place the Saturday or Sunday after the holiday. And with that, each of us brings one or two food items. Sometimes it’s an appetizer, sometimes for the main meal, dessert, whatever. This year I decided that it was a good opportunity to try this recipe. 

I had high hopes for it and it turned out okay, but not great. Most people liked the end product. My kids didn’t and I was so-so about them. There wasn’t anything wrong with them, they just were not as good as I thought they would be. 

For the recipe, I didn’t make any change although I used dried rosemary in the dough. It didn’t specifically specify fresh or dried. I will assume that it meant fresh since it calls to fry some fresh at the end but I had not found fresh rosemary at the store (two different ones) and was set to use the dried. 

While in the end I think everything turned out okay, I will say that I had trouble with the dough coming together. I may needed to have added more flour as the dough was pretty sticky. It stuck to the bowl after the first rise and then stuck to the counter when trying to roll it up. In fact, rolling it up didn’t work out at all. With it sticking, it was tearing and being problematic. I wound up just sort of scraping it all together and putting it back in the bowl. 

Frying them went pretty well once I got the hang of it. I had opted to buy a small fryer rather than try to do it in a pot on the stove. I can’t say how much I will use the fryer but it was on sale and pretty cheap. It worked out well. For serving, I piled them up on a plate and drizzled some honey on each layer. I did not fry any rosemary to sprinkle on. I had thought about trying to fry some dried but I didn’t feel like experimenting that much. 

The last thing I will say is that this recipe made a lot. You can kind of see from the picture that the plate is piled pretty high. I also probably made them bigger than I was supposed to but it didn’t really matter. Smaller ones would have meant more quantity. 

I would say that this is worth a try but bear in mind some of the issues that I ran into. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Apples, Cheese and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

