Orange Scented Cinnamon Rolls


Rounding out the cooking while family was in town was breakfast Saturday morning. While there were leftovers from the previous breakfast and I could have made anything, I went with this recipe for some cinnamon rolls. 

Overall, these turned out really well. I had a little trouble with the rise. That seems to be a common issue for me. It really didn’t appear to rise during the first one. I would have left it to go longer but I didn’t have the time. For the second rise, once they were cut and in the pan, they got a little puffy but not as much as I would have thought. However, in the end, once they were baked, they came out just fine. They filled the pan nicely. 

These were a little different as you put a sauce on the bottom of the pan, which then became the top of the pan once you flipped it. It worked out pretty well. Only a minor mess. Luckily I had a platter big enough to old all of them at once. Speaking of the sauce, it was good but a little interesting as it seemed to harden pretty easily. It wasn’t a bad thing, just different. It wasn’t your typical icing for cinnamon rolls. 

I only made one change and that was to use dried orange peel (2 teaspoons) instead of fresh. In the end I couldn’t taste any orange (or smell any) which may have been a result of using the dried. But they were still good. I also didn’t measure outnthe honey for the topping. I feel that I used about the right amount but I just drizzled it out of the bottle. That seemed to be a better/easier option. 

Overall I was very happy with how these turned out an would recommend this recipe. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

