Sausage Gravy Breakfast Lasagna 


With family over for the holidays, there was a need to make a few extra meals. Luckily I had found this and saved it for a time when I would need need it. You can read the recipe here

Overall, this turned out pretty well. There was a little bit of a kick to it which I couldn’t quite figure out. It was either the amount of pepper that was in it or (and) the Italian sausage. But the sausage was sweet so it shouldn’t have been spicy. 

Speaking of the sausage, that was one of the two changes – in addition to the two pounds of bulk sausage, I used the leftover seven ounces of sweet Italian sausage. It worked just fine, it just made it more meaty. I didn’t adjust the amount of gravy which worked out as the gravy is made without draining the fat and I had more fat the I should have with the extra sausage. 

The other change was using Monterey Jack cheese for the white cheddar. Can’t say it was a big change but I grabbed a bag of that instead of working to find a white cheddar. 

The only thing I would do differently would be to use more noodles. I used 12, four per layer, with three the long way and one at the end sideways. I was using a big (deep) pan that is called a lasagna pan. With only using those noodles, there was no overlapping and it could have used more. Plus I used some smaller ones (they had been broken) so some were not as long as they should have been. 

Overall, this was good. The spinach was a little different of an addition but it worked out. I would definitely recommend this, especially if you have a crowd to feed. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

