Pumpkin Cheesecake with Marshmallow-Sour Cream Topping and Gingersnap Crust


I haven’t made a cheesecake in quite awhile. At least it seems like that. I used to make them more often with a cheesecake being something of a “go to” recipe for a party. But I have gotten away from it. However, this recipe popped up in an email and look good. And by good, I mean it was something that looked “fancy” and I thought it would be cool to make it so I could say that I had made it. Just being honest. You can read the recipe here

I had a tad bit of trouble with this one, as evidenced by the pictures. I don’t normally include multiple pictures but I wanted to showcase that while it didn’t quite turn out initially, in the end it was just fine. 

I made no changes to the recipe but I think I might have been better off using a different pan. My favorite springform pan is one that is a silicone ring that wraps around a plate. It comes completely apart which makes it super easy to take off. However, it is very flexible and it made it hard for me to get the crust to go up the sides. As a result, I felt like the crust was too thick since it should have been spread out more. Which is t a big deal until you see the first picture and how the cheesecake ballooned out of the pan. Now, it’s not the fault of the crust exactly. In fact, I can’t really put a finger on anything that went “wrong”. There was just a lot of cheesecake mixture and I filled the pan completely full. To the top, kind of scared that it would run over. 

But, it worked out okay. Except that I didn’t put a pan or anything under it in the oven and something dropped out and got all over the bottom of the oven. Which wasn’t so much an issue at that point but was a big issue when I used the oven the next time and filled the house with smoke as stuff burned off. But I digress. 

Following the instructions about being able to make this a day or so ahead of time, and that it needed to sit at least overnight, I made this on a Thursday night. It sat until it had “cool one hour” and went in the fridge about 10:30 pm. It sat there until Saturday morning when I made the topping. I chose to trip off the parts that were not so good (at least visually) and go from there. That’s the second picture. I had a little trouble with getting it cut evenly (one side is a little lower) but in the end, you can’t tell. Luckily there was a topping and I could clean it up. 

Overall, this was pretty good. Everyone who ate some thought it was great. I didn’t eat a whole piece, choosing to snack on some of the top I cut off and it definitely tastes like a pumpkin pie without being overbearing on the flavor. 

This entry was posted in Cheesecake and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

