Orange Ricotta Pancakes


If you are any kind of regular reader of this blog, you will know that I save a lot of recipes and it is often a long time before I make some of them. I have too many ideas or I simply forget about the recipe. This falls into that latter category. In looking through my phone, apparently I took pictures a some recipes and turned them I do PDF documents around four years ago. Since they were PDFs, they were save in an area I never really look at. I have no idea where I originally got the recipe from, only that I was at a friends house and was looking through a cookbook. But, I was able to find the recipe online which you can read here. It is on a the Better Homes and Gardens site. 

After finding it, I decided that I needed to make it so here we are. I was very happy with how this turned out. I will admit that I was a bit hesitant to make it as I often “get in trouble” for not making my “normal” pancakes. However, no one said anything and everyone liked it. 

For the syrup, it was good. In one sense it was an integral part of the recipe – adding to the orange flavor – but at the same time, not all that necessary. In fact, I used regular syrup for the girls as I thought they may not be interested in the raspberry component. Which turned out to be the case as I gave them a couple of plain raspberries to eat and they didn’t like them. Also, I put most of a pint of raspberries in the syrup and chose to smash them up a bit and let it cook a little longer. I think that added to the flavor. Otherwise, I think you could skip adding the raspberries to the syrup and just sprinkle them on top of the pancakes. I had saved some to do that but after seeing how much was in the syrup (see picture) I opted to not do that. 

I got ten pancakes out of the recipe, using a 1/3 measuring cup for the batter. That is my normal method for pancakes so they are a decent, “regular” size. 

I would highly recommend these. I can’t say for sure that I would make these as a regular part of my breakfast rotation, but they are on the list to make again. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

