Quinoa Granola 


In an effort to continue to eat healthy(er), I found a granola recipe awhile back that I’ve been wanting to make. There isn’t anything wrong with store bought granola and I’m not overly a health nut but I do like the idea of having made it myself and knowing exactly what’s in it. Plus, the recipe sounded interesting. 

In my effort to save the recipe (screen shot on my phone) and know where it came from, I neglected to include the name of it. So I’m calling it “quinoa” granola as it contains that. But, it does come from Anjali Shah who is a board certified health coach and founder of The Picky Eater. 

  • 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa 
  • 1/2 cup chopped or slivered almonds (or any favorite nut/seed)
  • Pinch sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil 
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup or honey

Mix all ingredients and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. 

I really like this recipe. I used almonds and went with honey as I tend to not have pure maple syrup on hand. And while is use what we do have in place of maple syrup all the time, it didn’t seem like doing that here was a good idea. 

For the coconut oil, it is a solid if it is around 76 degrees or cooler so I put it in the microwave to warm it up so it would coat everything appropriately. I made sure all of the ingredients were very well mixed so that it was all incorporated. I used a piece of parchment paper over the cookie sheet to help make sure it wouldn’t stick. After it came out I stirred it around and continued to do that as it cooled, breaking up any larger chunks. Once it was cool I put it in a Tupperware container and gave it a good shake to further make sure we didn’t have any big chunks. Granted, I might now have lots of little pieces but we’ll see what happens. 

One quick note. The recipe says that it makes a “huge” batch and that there are 7 half cup servings (or 14 quarter cup) which I have to disagree with. There are only 4 half cups worth of ingredients plus the honey and coconut oil. How does that translate to an extra three half cups of stuff?  I don’t see it. Maybe it’s counting that it won’t be packed into the half cup so it makes more but I don’t really agree. 

But, that doesn’t take away from the fact that I really like this recipe. Yes, I’ll either have to make it frequently or make a double/triple batch to have a bunch on hand but it tasted good. And it was pretty easy to make. Plus it is pretty customizable with using any nut or seed and picking honey or syrup. This will definitely be on he list to keep making. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

