Tomato Basil Turkey Burger 


Pros and cons of a turkey burger – pro: it’s a little more healthy for you. Con: it won’t stay together while you cook it. Luckily, that was the only real issue I had in making these and one that wasn’t that big of a deal. You can read the recipe online here. I first found it in the August/September 2010 issue of Taste of Home: Simple & Delicious

Overall, these were pretty darn good. Everyone liked them and it was even mentioned that it “tastes like restaurant food” which I’ll take as a big compliment. I did make a few tweaks however, from the original recipe. 

First was the cheese spread. Although it never says it, I felt like it wanted you to use a certain cheese spread (like a specific brand) as it doesn’t seem like a common thing (sun dried tomato and basil). I did some searching on the internet and found a brand but also a lot of recipes that were cream cheese based. I didn’t think that was what they meant. At the store, I only found a sun dried tomato feta spread that I decided was good enough. I really didn’t want to make a cream cheese based spread and then have a bunch left over. 

For the onion, I finely diced half of a small one to put in the burgers. I then diced the rest of it and another small one (along with the pepper) for the garnish. Speaking of the garnish, I opted to sauté it in a cast iron pan inside (with a little bit of butter) rather than grill them. It worked pretty well. I will say that there is a lot of excess on the onion and pepper (more than is needed) even with not putting some on the girls’ burger. Maybe keepmthat in mind as you make it. I have a use for it so it won’t go to waste but there is plenty of it. 

For the buns, I didn’t find actual ciabatta buns but found a flat, rectangular loaf that I could use. It worked pretty well. It’s not the fault of anything, but the burgers were pretty tall and hard to get your mouth around it. Especially for the kids. 

The feta spread worked pretty well. It wasn’t too overpowering. I did add a half teaspoon of dried basil to the burger to add in that flavor. And I did use the right amount of ground turkey (1 1/4 pounds). Normally I might not as it would leave me with extra turkey to find a use for but since I already had a future use in mind, I didn’t have an issue with it. 

I would definitely recommend this recipe. 

This entry was posted in Grill, Turkey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

