Cider Pork Chops


This is another recipe from the August/September 2010 issue of Taste of Home: Simply Delicious. I chose it mainly because it was a little different than what I had been making more recently. Specifically, it was a pork dish. I managed to find it online so you can read it here

I made this for lunch on Sunday in between church and the girls heading to an event. It was quick enough to do then which was part of the reason why I had chose the recipe- looking for things that were a little more quick to make. Plus, I had bought the pork chops last Tuesday and hadn’t been able to make the dish yet and I was concerned about the pork chops going bad. 

The only real change I made, other than finding out that I was out of thyme (or at least not being able to find it) was that I used two thick cut, boneless pork chops which I cut in half to make four thinner chops. This increased the cooking time from 7-8 minutes to around 20. I even had to cut the pieces in half to ensure more cooking area was exposed. Which may not have been necessary but my meat thermometer wouldn’t go past about 124 degrees no matter where I stuck it (even touching the pan). 

Oh, and lastly, maybe I should mention that I used apple juice instead of cider (an option given). I did this mostly because I felt that the girls wouldn’t be interested in drinking the cider (the leftovers) which made me buy apple juice as I know they would drink that. 

Regardless, it still turned out fine and was pretty tasty. I did pair it with some sautéed asparagus- a half stick of butter with some salt and pepper. Pretty basic but still pretty good. I’d recommend this. 

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

