Pumpkin Streusel Muffins


It’s that time of year again, time for pumpkin related recipes. I don’t have too many new ones on my list this year to try out. But I did come across this one while making pumpkin bars the other week. You can read it here

This one utilizes a cake mix as the base with a can of pumpkin added in (plus eggs and some water). It was a nice and quick recipe as there wasn’t a lot of measuring, etc.  I will admit that I was a little torn with the idea of using a cake mix as I tend to fall I to the category of “make it from scratch”. That is, I would prefer to start with flour and add everything in.  It as I said, using the cake mix made it a lot simpler. 

I didn’t do anything different with this recipe. I will say, however, again, that I think my muffin pans are smaller. This recipe says that it makes about 18. Well, I suppose I could have filled a few of the cups up more, but I got a full two pans (24) out of the recipe.  Which in some ways was good as the streusel mixture was more than enough for the 24 muffins. In fact, it felt like there was even too much for the 24 muffins. But, after baking, it seemed fine. 

Speaking of the baking, I baked these for 16 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through as the right side of my oven tends to be hotter. It worked out pretty well. These were good muffins. They were very soft and moist. I can’t think of the right word to describe them but they were more put together than a regular cake mix. And by that I mean they were not super crumbly. If that makes sense. Bottom line, they were good and I would recommend them. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

