Egg Roll in a Bowl


This is another recipe that a friend shared. It looked good/interesting enough to decide to give it a try. It was pretty easy to put together and pretty good. I hate to say “better than expected” because that implies it was worried about it (I wasn’t). But it was pretty good. 

Below is the ingredient list as I did it. I used the ingredients that were on the friends list but there were not quantities listed so I made up my own. 

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil 
  • 1 bag broccoli slaw
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder 
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger 
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • Coconut aminos (or soy sauce)

Brown the turkey. Drain if needed and remove from pan. Heat pan back up and add the oil. Add the slaw, spices, and green onions. Sauté until it is to your liking. Add meat back in. Add aminos (to taste) and stir to combine. 

A couple of notes. The broccoli slaw I found was a 10 ounce bag of shredded brussels sprouts, napa cabbage, Kohlrabi, broccoli, carrots, and kale.  It worked very well. I sautéed it for about five minutes. I had a little bit of an issue with it sticking to the pan but just keep stirring. I think using fresh garlic and ginger would be preferred but at the time it was much easier to use the dried, ground variety. To be honest, I had to look up coconut aminos to see what it was. In the end, it suggested that soy sauce was a good substitute. I used four splashes our of the bottle. 

I definitely recommend this. This is another dish that may not make “the rotation” if you will but will be on the list to make again. It’s pretty simple and something that can be made without really needing to reference a recipe. 

This entry was posted in Turkey, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

