Waldorf Salad


Technically this is called an updated Waldorf Salad. However, until I Googled it, I wasn’t sure what what is a Waldorf Salad to begin with to understand how this was different. But there were a few changes although I’m not sure it’s enough to really call this updated. I think the point of the recipe was that it is a little lighter/healthier than a normal one. 

The recipe comes from the July 2016 issue of Redbook Magazine in a section that has several recipes for “new ideas for chicken breasts”. They all are of the healthy nature. The recipe is outline below. I will then talk about the differences. 

  • 6 ounces cooked, chopped chicken
  • 1/2 cup chopped, seedless cucumber 
  • 1/3 cup chopped apple
  • 1/3 cup chopped grapes
  • 1/4 ounce chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt 
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon pepper

Mix everything together. 

In looking at some other recipes, there isn’t a whole lot that was different.  The other recipes called for raisins and celery and typically called for the dressing to be mayonnaise. But some called for yogurt. 

I think it was good the way it was but some raisins wouldn’t have been bad. Or celery for that matter. I ended up doubling the recipe as I used a can of chicken which was twice as much as called for. That made four servings according to the recipe but I found it hard not to eat all of it in one sitting. I settled for about half of it. The short version on that was it was good but I was also really hungry which made it hard to exercise self control. I’ll be eating the other half today for lunch. 

If it matters, or if you care, se to use a regular cucumber, a yellow apple, and red grapes. I would recommend this. I can’t say it will “make the rotation” but it will be something to make again.  

This entry was posted in Apples, Chicken and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

