Balsamic Chicken and Pasta


A friend shared this recipe on one of the social media platforms recently. I’m not sure if it was her own creation or if she got it somewhere else but she had written out the recipe which may mean it was her own. It sounded good to me so I decided that I would make it. While I stayed true to the intent of the recipe, I did make some changes. Basically, I used what I had on hand. 

This is basically chicken with a tomato/onion/garlic mixture in the crockpot with balsamic vinegar. Hers called for chicken breasts and she used a jar of salsa that was more Italian in nature – lots of onion and garlic. 

I chose to use 2 pounds of chicken thighs which is what I had in the freezer. Instead of going out to get a jar of salsa I chopped up 3 garlic cloves and some onion. Specifically a half of a small yellow onion and half of a small red onion. Again, what I had on hand. I sprinkled that on top of he chicken which was in one layer on the bottom of the crockpot. I then poured a half cup of balsamic vinegar over it, as evenly as possible. 

I cooked it on low for about 6 1/2 hours. I shredded it in the crockpot and left it on warm while I made the pasta. I opted to go with 8 ounces of pasta. It turned out to be enough for the four of us with some chicken leftover. To me that worked pretty well. A whole box of pasta (a pound) would have been way too much. With the way it is now, it will be easy to eat the chicken up and call it a day. 

This was pretty simple to put together and a good meal. I would definitely recommend it. 

This entry was posted in Chicken, Pasta and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

