Baked Flounder with Browned Butter and Mango Quinoa 


The purpose of this post is the quinoa. Since I was pairing it with the fish, I felt that I should include it. I won’t say much about the fish. In fact, it was pretty underwhelming. Maybe it was my choice of cooking (browned some butter and baked the fish with the butter) but I didn’t want to compete with the flavors of the quinoa. Anyway, the recipe for the quinoa can be found here.

In short, the quinoa was good but I very much agree with the comments in the recipe that it needs more. More of pretty much everything, or at least the mango, onion, and maybe even jalapeño. I felt like I added a little more mango than it called for but it definitely needed more. There is just so much of the quinoa that there are times when you just get a bite of that. The other option, I suppose is to cut back on the amount of quinoa in the recipe. There was plenty for the four of us plus leftovers.

Also, the recipe calls this a “quinoa with Thai flavors” but I’m just referring to it as a mango quinoa as the dominant other ingredient seemed to be the mango. But that’s personal preference. I’d recommend this but definitely increase some of the other ingredients.

This entry was posted in Fish, Fruit, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

