Butter Pecan Shake


While on our recent vacation, we both felt like we did a fairly decent job of not over indulging especially when practically every meal was eaten out. But we still told ourselves that when we came back we really needed to eat healthier. What that means exactly, I’m not sure. But you may start to see things posted on here that trend to be fairly healthy.

Enter more smoothies. This one, although called a ‘shake’, is inspired by a Shakeology recipe that was posted by a friend. Saying I was inspired by the recipe is probably not quite accurate. I was inspired to make it. Not that a recipe inspired me to make this, which was different.

The recipe is outlined below. The only change was using my own protein powder in place of the Shakeology. And using a teaspoon of almond extract in place of maple. I thought for sure I had some maple extract but I didn’t. Using the almond worked, although it was pretty strong in almond flavor. This smoothie was also very non-thick. I’m not sure how else to say it but most of the smoothies I’ve made are fairly thick. This one wasn’t. Still okay, just more more like a drink than a smoothie.

Overall, this was pretty good. Not in my top five (or maybe ten) but a decent recipe. Very easy to make and in some ways a “fun” thing as you don’t often think of butter pecan as being healthy. Oh, and for what it is worth, I usually split the resulting smoothie with my wife, furthering the healthy aspect by only eating part. At least that’s what I tell myself.

  • One scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 8 ounces unsweetened almond milk
  • 10 pecan halves
  • 1 teaspoon maple extract
  • 5-6 ice cubes
This entry was posted in Breakfast, smoothie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

