Blueberry Chia Seed Jam

I’ve been on something of a hiatus lately, mostly due to being on an extended vacation. But I am back and easing back into meal planning and cooking.

I found this recipe awhile back and “filed” it to make later as we have a plethora of jams and jellies in the fridge. I figured I would hold off for awhile until some of the others were used up. And then I found a blueberry chia smoothie recipe that called for using some of this jam. Which made me make sooner rather than later.

I haven’t made the smoothie at this point but I’ve tried this on some toast – very good. I would definitely recommend making this, even if you don’t want to make the smoothie (which I’ll post about after I make it).

This was pretty simple to put together. In fact the hardest part was that the blueberry mixture was splattering all over the place and I needed to put a lid on it (cracked to vent). It took about the recommended times cooking and it definitely thickened up once the chia seeds were added and it cooled. The only change I made is I used “regular” syrup rather than pure maple syrup. Turned out fine in my opinion.  I also didn’t add anymore syrup after tasting it before the chia seeds were added.

Overall, as I said, this turned out very well and I’m glad I made it. Hopefully it works with the smoothie later.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

