Mint Chocolate Chip Smoothie

Last week I got sucked into reading this article on Buzzfeed on the “22 things healthy people actually eat” or something like that. The gist was that it was a list of food that tasted good but was still healthy. And while I felt a little ridiculous getting sucked in the list, I did save a few recipes. The origin of this recipe is from a user on Instagram – @hollyperkins

Quick disclosure, technical she called it a milkshake but it doesn’t seem that far off from a lot of the smoothie recipes I’ve seen so I’m calling it a smoothie. Plus that sounds even more healthy. 

Here is the recipe as presented. I did make a few tweaked which I’ll note after. 

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk 
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • Ice
  • 1 scoop Orgain (protein powder)
  • 1 handful frozen spinach
  • 1-2 drops mint extract
  • Small handful of stevia sweetened chocolate chips

The first thing I’ll say is that it did taste like mint chocolate chip although the banana flavor really comes through. Both my kids tried it. One liked it and commented on the banana. The other didn’t like it. 

I should also mention that I upgraded my blender. Or rather, I bought a Magic Bullet to use for these types of things. I still have the old blender and will use it as needed. The Bullet worked pretty well for this although I did find I had to use the “shake” method (as described by the Bullet paperwork) and give the container a shake after each 10 second run. The Bullet worked pretty well for this. 

Now to the tweaks. I used a few regular chocolate chips. I hadn’t planned on using any protein powder as I wasn’t prepared to buy a huge container. But then my wife came home (out of the blue) with a couple of “single use” packets that were a store brand. I used the vanilla package. I don’t know how much was in the package compared to a scoop of what it mentioned. It worked fine so I say use whatever you want. 

Lastly, it didn’t say how much ice to use. I decided that after putting in all the ingredients I would fill the rest of the Bullet container wit ice. It was probably between a half cup and a whole cup of ice. 

This was good but I felt that it “melted” very quickly. That is, it was no longer a smoothie consistency and more if just a liquid. I might have out too much ice in. I might suggest using a half cup and going from there. 

Lastly, this made a pretty decent amount. The cup you see is full, and about a pint, with a little more in the container. In my mind, definitely something that could be shared. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chocolate, smoothie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

