Crispy Parmesan Chickpeas 


I can’t recall exactly where this recipe popped up to cause me to save it but I can tell you that I did save it as it was a “healthy” snack option and it seemed like a good idea. You can read the recipe here, although I am going to re-type it below as most of the post is about an app and you have to scroll a lot to get to the actual recipe. 

Overall, these turned out pretty well. They had a nice flavor and crunch, although I would have liked a little more of a crunch. That would come from cooking them longer or baking them (I think). The only change I made was to not measure the Parmesan which means I put more in there than it called for. 

I doubled the recipe as we had a group coming over for dinner and wanted to make sure we had enough. Plus one can just didn’t seem like a lot. The two cans fit well in my 9″ cast iron skillet. If I was making more I think I would have used two skillets. It took awhile for them to start getting crispy and more in the pan would have made it take longer. (I think). 

The recipe states that it is important to make sure that they are dry so they do crisp up. Once I rinsed them, I put them on a paper towel lined plate and used other towels to pat them dry. I moved them around on the plate with the paper towels and in doing so, wound up removing some of the outer cover on the chickpeas. I kept doing to remove the covers but didn’t go overboard. Some more covers came off while they were cooking and I discarded those as well. It didn’t say anything about doing that, but it seemed like the right thing to do. 

I would recommend giving this a try. I didn’t have too many of them myself but they were a hit. The recipe is below. One can of chickpeas per batch. 

  • One 15 ounce can chickpeas, drained, rinsed and patted dry
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder 
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon rind
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper 

Heat oil in a nonstick pan over medium heat . Add chickpeas and cook, stirring occasionally for about 17 minutes or until they are crisp. Transfer to a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients. Toss to coat. Serve warm or cooled. To cool, spread them out in a single layer on a parchment lined baking sheet. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cheese and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

