Lemon Ginger Strawberry Pie

As much as I believe in the concept of moderation – you can eat what you want, just in moderation – I keep thinking that if we really want to eat better/healthier/etc. I really need to stop making dessert. Yet, here I go again. Now, part of making this was that we had company coming over and it would be nice to have dessert. And part was that the recipe sounded good. And part was that it is healthy, right?  Lots of strawberries. Never mind the sugars mixed in. You can read the recipe here

Overall, I’d say this turned out pretty well. It did not thicken as I would have hoped. In fact, I poured off some of the juice. That wasn’t intentional but more of a function that it spilled as it was being moved from the pan to the counter. Then I poured some off. I can’t say exactly why it didn’t thicken but it may have needed to bake longer. A comment on the recipe talks about the non-thickening and that was the response. Regardless, it still tasted really good. 

I made a few tweaks to the recipe. I did use the crust recipe but used regular all-purpose flour and sour milk (milk+lemon juice). I made the crust in the morning which meant it sat in the fridge all day. When I separated it into two parts, I did it by weight. I took it out and let it warm up a bit before rolling it out. The crust rolled out pretty well. I didn’t get my circle to be an even 12″ so I had to put some extra in two spots to get it to be at the top of the pie pan. I might suggest rolling it to be more than 12″ if you can. 

My lattice work needs help. That was partly on not being able to cut straight, even pieces and partly that it had warmed up to the point where it was hard to work with. I should have left one of the discs of dough in the fridge. 

For the filling, I used ground, dried ginger (only one teaspoon) in place of the fresh. In case you were wondering, six cups of strawberries is about two pounds. I quartered the smaller ones and cut the bigger ones more to get about the same size. 

My lemon didn’t cut well on my mandolin and it wound up being more strips of lemon rind. Not bad but my piece of the pie had a piece of lemon rind that was a little chewy. 

Despite it not thickening, I give this high marks. It was still good even if a little runny and everyone liked it. 

This entry was posted in Fruit, Pie and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

