Delaware Peach Pie


With company over the last weekend, I needed to make dessert for Saturday night and a peach pie was on my mind. But I wanted something a little different than a “normal” peach pie. We have this little book, American Pie Celebration, by Crisco that gives a variety of pie recipes by state. I picked the one from Delaware as it was different. 

Here is the recipe. It called for using the Crisco pie crust (a “double” as you need a top and bottom) but I used my own recipe. I’d use whatever your comfortable with for the crust. 

  • 5 cups sliced peaches
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup canned or packaged almond paste
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour 
  • 1/4 cup nondairy powdered creamer
  • 1 egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup chopped or crushed almonds
  • 3 tablespoons sugar

Mix the first six ingredients together, pour into pie crust. Top with second crust. Brush crust with egg white and sprinkle almonds and sugar over crust. Cut a few slits in the crust for steam to escape. Bake at 375 degrees for one hour. Let cool completely (or almost completely) before serving. 

The main thing that was different was the almonds. Both mixed up in the pie filling and then on top. And the creamer. But that’s what made it unique and made me want to try it. 
I made some changes. I didn’t use actual almond paste. It said that I could use a half cup of almonds puréed with a half teaspoon of almond extract. Which I did but with a teaspoon of extract (I got a little generous on the pour). It didn’t really turn to a paste but worked. I also substituted the flour with Pie Enhancer Filling from King Arthur Flour. And, finally, not really a substitute but my creamer was French vanilla flavor. 

In the end, this was good but it didn’t really turn out as I had really hoped. The filling was thick, yet still a little runny. The bottom crust didn’t get crusty. It seemed uncooked. It wasn’t bubbling after an hour so I left it in for another 10 minutes. It still wasn’t bubbling and I took it out over concerns for the top crust. You usually bake pies until it bubbles but I didn’t know for sure if this one should be bubbling. Probably but the recipe never said it. 

Overall, I would say that this was good. The almonds did give it a unique flavor that some didn’t like but was okay for me. The crust issue was problematic but really didn’t change the flavor of the pie. 

This entry was posted in Fruit, Pie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

