Maple Bacon Potato Salad


I first saved this recipe, thinking it would be a good thing to make some day when I needed a side dish to go with a picnic or when I was grilling. Plus it had bacon. I never gave it much thought. I read the recipe to get a feel for it but then ignored it until it came time to make it (months later most likely). And even then, when I ran through it again to make sure I had everything, I didn’t think much of it. It wasn’t until I was almost done with making it that it hit me – this is basically German Potato Salad. 

You can read the recipe here but it may not jump out at you unless you are comparing recipes. It didn’t occur to me until I was smelling the vinaigrette. Granted it is a little different – red potatoes (roasted) instead of white (cooked), there isn’t as much seasoning in this, and the vinaigrette isn’t as thick with this but it’s pretty darn close. And, well, it has maple syrup which a regular German potato salad doesn’t. But still. 

Needless to say, I thought this was really good. The syrup added a nice flavor even if I used regular syrup in place of pure maple syrup. Also, I chose to serve this cold, which worked but it would have been better warm. I was cooking for a group at our house and I was trying to get as much done as possible in the early afternoon so I wasn’t crazy right before dinner trying to get things done. 

I did double the recipe as weighing out 1.5 pounds of potatoes seemed small. Plus the bag of red potatoes I bought was 3 pounds so it worked. I quartered the potatoes as cutting them in half seemed to make large pieces. Plus I was using regular red potatoes inst ad of whatever miniature red potatoes the recipe talked about. 

I definitely recommend this and will probably save it for future making. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Potato, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

