Crockpot Tex Mex Round Steak


As I’ve mentioned before, we usually get either a half or quarter of a cow each year which typically gives us enough meat for the entire year (a half definitely does). And while you get everything you want at a reasonable price, you often get things that you wouldn’t necessarily buy at the store unless you needed it for something special or specific. Such as round steak. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it, but it’s not a cut of meat I might normally buy. Which leads me to have to google recipes knowing that it’s better slow cooked than say, grilled. I found several I liked. This is one. I’m sure I’ll be making the others as I have more packages in the freezer. You can read this one here

The picture doesn’t do this recipe justice. Not that it looked different but the picture, in my mind, makes it seem kind of “meh” while it was pretty good. But it’s hard to take a picture of something in the crockpot. 

I did make a few changes to it. Some intentional, some not. I did use 2 1/2 pounds of meat as that was what was in the package. I didn’t want to separate it out and try refreezing or using the rest up quickly. Plus, having more meat is usually never a problem. 

I added two banana peppers that we had gotten out of our garden. They needed to be used and we didn’t have a use for them. I ended up substituting flat leaf parsley for the cilantro. I have no idea why I didn’t buy cilantro as I had bought everything else for this that I didn’t already have. Maybe I grabbed what I thought was cilantro but it was really parsley and I didn’t pay attention. I don’t know. Lastly, I forgot to add the beef broth. Which worked okay. It had plenty of liquid in it when it was done. 

It was in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours and then on warm for another half hour or so. I shredded it all after the 9 hours and mixed it all up. We ate this wrapped in tortillas like a taco. I added some sour cream and taco sauce to mine along with the cheese. It would also be good by itself or, as odd as it might sound, over some mashed potatoes. Definitely rice, but I think you could make the potatoes work. 

The flavors weren’t too bad. There was nothing that was bold or intense just overall good flavor. I noticed that one of the commenters on the recipe complained that it was “stringy and bland” (something like that). I did not have that experience. 

This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

