Mint and Cumin Spiced Lamb Chops


I finally found a few (new) lamb related recipes that I wanted to try which will help use up the lamb in the freezer. Not that it needs “using up” per se, but since it is in there, we should be eating it and not ignoring it. You can read this recipe here

These turned out very well. Although I made some tweaks to the recipe which adjusted the marinade, I don’t think it came too far off the mark. I skipped the red pepper flakes and the masala. Most of the time I do skip the red pepper and I didn’t feel like buying another container of seasoning that I wouldn’t use again. I did add a teaspoon of dry sherry for a little bit of liquid. It doesn’t call for any liquid but I decided having some would work. I think it worked fine but if I were to do it again, I would probably add a little bit of olive oil. 

I did make pretty much the entire marinade amount although I chose to go with half as much lamb. I weighed out a little more than two pound of rib chops from the freezer (8 total). I then decide that using the whole marinade recipe would be adequate for coverage on the chops. It worked well and makes me wonder what it would have been like if I had used the full five pounds of meat like it called for. 

I did set these up in the marinade Saturday afternoon and grilled them on Sunday for dinner. I left the marinade that was stuck the the ribs on them when I grilled them. It wasn’t much but scrapping it off seemed counter productive.  There were a few different sizes/thicknesses of the chops so I was able to get them cooked the “right” way for everyone. Lamb should be cooked to medium rare but sometimes people still want well done. The smaller ones ended up more well done by nature. 

Overall, a good recipe. Maybe not my favorite lamb marinade/dish but worth the effort. 

This entry was posted in Grill, Lamb and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

