Cold Brew Plum Iced Tea


This is not the typical recipe I wind up saving and making but it’s summer and it seemed like a nice drink to make and enjoy. Plus it was pretty easy to put together. You can read the recipe here

Okay, so here is the deal. There really isn’t much to say about this. It was good but the dominant flavor is the black tea. You really don’t taste the plum or the mint. At all. So, while it is still good (although black tea has a different taste than a “normal” green tea) it seemed like a lot of work to not taste anything else. 

For the method, however, it was interesting to cold brew something. Most of the teas I have ever made are still “hot” through a machine or sun tea which is, well, hot from the sun. 

Quick note about the plum syrup. I got two cups of syrup out of the recipe. Since it only calls for 3/4 of a cup I had originally planned to pour off that much and discard the rest, thinking there wouldn’t be that much. But after seeing how much there was, I saved all of it. I then decided to use one cup in the recipe as it would leave me with one cup and I could make his whole recipe again and not have any syrup left over that I needed to discard. Plus I thought a little extra syrup wouldn’t hurt anything. Which leaves me to wonder, since I can barely taste it now, using less would maybe be even worse?  

Regardless, this wasn’t too bad but it was disappointing that the plum flavor wasn’t more prominent. I will make it one more time as I have syrup leftover (and mint; and black tea bags). 

This entry was posted in Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

