Peach Strawberry Tart


As much as I like a pie, making a tart in this fashion may be my new “go to” dessert to make. It is super easy and, most importantly, you can roll the crust out quickly because it doesn’t matter what it looks like. The fact that it looks a little misshapen is the point. It is supposed to look like that. And, as long as you have a crust recipe you can kind of do what you want. Which means that I used this recipe as inspiration but made it with my own crust. And while I used the fruit it suggested, you can use any fruit. 

The crust I used is my wife’s recipe, which is her mom’s recipe. It is our go to recipe for pies, etc.  I wasn’t opposed to using the crust recipe in the link but at some point I feel like if you have something that works, just use it. That recipe is below. 

It called for one pound of peaches, plus the berries. We still had some frozen peaches from last summer (or, eek, the summer before) so I pulled a bag of those out to use. There were six cups of peaches in the bag. When weighed it was about one and a quarter pounds. I though about taking some out to make it the right weight but I didn’t (first mistake). I added one cup of strawberries as we had some in the fridge and needed to use them up. 

The second mistake was that I didn’t do anything about the abundance of liquid. Having froze the peaches, and then thawed them, there was a lot of liquid. I didn’t want to drain it and lose that liquid.  I also thought about putting some kind of thickener in but didn’t. And I should have. 

These two mistakes resulted in two problems. After pouring all the fruit onto the crust, I had to scoop about one cup back off. There was just too much there. Even with that cup gone, I had to be strategic about folding the crust over. Secondly, after it was done baking, there were juices everywhere that I had to soak up with paper towels for fear of it making the crust soggy. 

BUT, at the end of the day, it was still a good tasting pie/tart/galette/whatever. As I mentioned, I think this is my new “go to” for a quick fruit dessert. 

Here is the crust recipe. 

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup shortening 
  • 1/2 cup butter (softened)
  • 1/2 cup boiling water

Mix dry ingredients. Cut in butter and shortening (I used a pastry blender). Add boiling water and stir to combine. Refrigerate for at least 15 minutes. 

I let it sit for about two hours while I left the house. I kneaded it for a few seconds after taking it out to see how hard it was – not very. I let it sit for a few minutes and then rolled it out. Try not to overwork the dough. 

This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

