Pancake Squares


I came across a blog post the other day from King Arthur Flour (read it here) that talked about pancake squares. I don’t recall some of what she was talking about with McDonalds (maybe I’m too young) but the concept – baking the pancake batter – interested me enough that I decided to try it. Even at the risk of being in trouble because I “messed with the pancakes”. My usual pancakes are a pretty big hit in the house so at times, any deviation is met with a little unhappiness – “why can’t you just make normal pancakes?”  

But, this worked out. Since this is all about the cooking method, I used my normal pancake recipe and poured it into a greased 9×13 pan and baked it at 350 degrees. The recipe talked about baking it for 20-25 minutes. I started at 20 and it was pretty much done but it hadn’t gotten golden brown on the top so I let it go another 3 and then 2 minutes. It never got golden brown and I decided that I would just stop since it was done. 

It had puffed up a bit and then fell a little bit after taking it out of the oven but not enough where I felt it caused a problem. I cut it into 12 squares (pancakes) which is about what I get out the recipe when I make them the “normal” way. They were a lot thicker than my usual pancakes which is saying something since my pancakes are normally pretty thick. 

Overall, this worked as a method to cook the pancakes, and yes, I didn’t have to stand there while I cooked the pancakes but there is something to be said for “normal” pancakes. 

Here is my usual pancake recipe – 

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

