Corn and Fregola with Grilled Halloumi Cheese


I came across this recipe in one of the (many) emails I get and it really stuck out to me. Mostly because it seemed so different from what I might normally make. Which is kind of saying something given that I make a lot of random things. Anyway, it seemed like a good dish to put on the list for our big cookout last weekend. You can read the recipe here

I highly recommend this recipe. It turned out great and had a lot good flavors. The cheese had its own unique flavor which is hard to describe but was fantastic. I could probably just eat that cheese. Speaking of the cheese, I did make a special effort to get the right cheese. Luckily I only had to go to one extra store to find it. 

Overall, I did not make any changes to the recipe unless you want to count that I chopped the parsley, mint and basil. It felt a little odd to have these large mint leaves that no one was actually going to eat. Oh, and I used couscous instead of the Fregola but I don’t really count that as it was an optional switch outlined in the recipe. 

Since this was a “cold” salad, I did make it in the early afternoon and then let it sit in the fridge. I did make each “hot” item as directed and let everything cool before combining. 

While there were a few steps and some things to get we don’t normally have on hand, it was pretty easy to put together. As I mentioned, I would definitely recommend this recipe. 

This entry was posted in Cheese, Grill, Side Dishes, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

