Hazelnut Coffeecake 


This is a recipe that has been on my list for quite awhile. I even had all the ingredients, I just kept forgetting that it was on my list to make. So one night I wrote myself a note, set some butter out and planned to make it. Get up at 4:30 helps also as it lets you be done with it by breakfast time one a weekday. But I digress. 

I did make one (major) change and that was I swapped out the chestnuts for hazelnuts. I did that mainly because I had an open bag of hazelnuts that I wanted to use up. Everything else was the same. Well, sort of. You can read the recipe here

In reading the recipe, it was a little confusing. It talked about getting candied chestnuts but then also glazing them. But if you couldn’t find them, then you didn’t glaze them?  I don’t know. Regardless, I just tossed the hazelnuts with one tablespoon of brown sugar and two tablespoons of cocoa powder. And then sprinkled them in the middle when it came time to do that. 

Overall, this turned out very well. The batter was thicker than I expected which made smoothing it out a little tricky, especially the top layer. The only downside I saw with this was that the middle (the nuts) sunk farther down that I had hoped. They really weren’t in the middle anymore with the finished product. (See picture). Which is why you try to put more batter on the bottom than the top. But sometimes it doesn’t work. 

But despite that minor annoyance, this was a good coffeecake. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

