Avocado, Kale, Pineapple and Coconut Smoothie


Deciding to make this was a huge whim. Especially since i don’t really like three of the four main ingredients. I’ll let you decide which are which. Deciding to make this, however, was based on the interest in the green matcha powder and the potential to start drinking more of that and less coffee. And the fact that maybe it would be healthier. The smoothie part anyway. This was the recipe that stuck out the most to me. You can read it here

The quick version of this is that it really wasn’t that bad. There really wasn’t one taste that was prominent over the others. Which was nice. The only downside is that it came out a little chunky. But that is due, I’m sure, to the fact that I was using an old 1950s blender and not a new fancy one that you should use to make smoothies. Well, maybe not quite that old, but it’s pretty old. And has two speeds – low and high. I suppose I could have left it go longer but I didn’t. 

I did use a ‘real’ coconut. One that I had to split open and scrape out the insides. It worked pretty well but seemed a bit overboard for what I was trying to do. Actually, overall there was a lot of work with this. 

It made enough for two decent servings. That glass is about 12 ounces. It made about 1 1/2 of those glasses. 

I would recommend this if you are interested in this type of thing. I still have this idea that I want to do more of this type of dish but of course, I haven’t done anything like it since making it. And that was a while ago. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

