German Potato Salad

  
Although I grew up with lots of cooking being done, very little sticks out if you ask me what food I remember from my childhood. This is one of the exceptions. German potato salad was something of a staple although I remember it more from being around one grandparent than the general family. So when I decided I wanted to make it, I went searching for my grandma’s recipe. Eventually we found it but, as with most recipes from grandma’s, it was a little incomplete. In the end, I used my grandma’s recipe for the sauce and used a recipe out of a cookbook (not sure which one, my dad sent it to me) to get the quantity of potatoes and bacon figured out. 

Overall, this turned out well and tasted great. Even “just like grandma’s”. However, I will admit that I was doing too much multitasking and the bacon got a little overdone. Which is why it is so dark. It’s not supposed to be that dark, especially when the recipe states to cook “until clear.”  I did double the recipe as I was making it for a large group. And, once it was all done, I put it in a 9×13 pan and stuck it in the oven on the lowest temp to keep it warm. It was there for quite awhile but there were no ill effects. 

  • 6 cups sliced, cooked potatoes (about 2 1/2 pounds)
  • 1/2 pound bacon, diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar 
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch 
  • 1 teaspoon celery seed

Peel and slice potatoes. Cook, drain and set aside. Cook bacon over medium heat until crispy. Drain fat reserving 1/4 cup. Sauté onions in bacon fat until tender. Whisk cornstarch in and then add water, sugar and vinegar. Whisk until smooth. Let cook until clear. Add celery seed and potatoes. Stir to combine. Serve warm. 

This entry was posted in Bacon, Potato, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

