Fusilli alla Vodka with Basil and Parmesan

untitled

Although there is nothing wrong with a  meatless dish, I feel that making this was a slight departure from “the norm”.  But it sounded like a good dish to make so I went for it.  Interestingly enough, I found this recipe amongst a collection of non-red sauce pasta dishes.  Which I found humorous as the pasta does have a red sauce.  Or at least it is red even if it isn’t the traditional red (it is a cream based sauce).  You can read the recipe here.

This was fairly simple to put together.  The only trouble I had was the tomato paste didn’t want to mix in with the oil and everything else.  It wasn’t until I added the cream (and used a lot of elbow grease with a whisk) that I was able to get the tomato paste incorporated into the sauce.  But, in the end it worked out just fine.

I was able to find fusilli at the store although it is a spiral pasta which, in my opinion, means that using a rotini should also work if you can’t find the fusilli.  Honestly, while I am sure there is a difference, I have not looked into what that difference is.  The only real change I made was using dried basil.  I put in two teaspoons to the sauce and then sprinkled a little bit on top of each dish.  It worked, although the flavor was probably a little different than if I had used the fresh.

Overall, I was very happy with this dish.  The vodka flavor did not come through at all, which is somewhat disappointing (what’s the point if the flavor isn’t there) but on the other hand, no one complained that it tasted “funny”.  I recommend this.

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

