Grapefruit Poppyseed Loaf Cake with Yogurt Glaze

  
I couldn’t help myself with this recipe. The name alone makes you want to at least try a piece of the bread because it is just so unique. And since I couldn’t just try a piece I had to make it. I’m glad I did, although there was an issue after it was done that seemed to make the whole effort worthless. More on that in a minute. You can read the recipe here

I categorized this as both a bread and a cake. My first inclination is that it is a bread, however it does say that it is a cake in the name of the recipe. I’d settle for something in the middle. It is similar to a pound cake but also reminds me a bit of banana bread. The process to make it is fairly straightforward. I did not have any issues making it. I did, of course, use a real grapefruit for the zest and juice. The eight tablespoons of juice it calls for was most of the juice from the grapefruit. Well, not counting the juice that got everywhere as I tried to squeeze a bit grapefruit into a little measuring cup. 

The only downside was that I had to make the glaze a little thinner than called for to be able to pour it which then caused it to run down all over the sides. And pool on the plate. But, it was okay. It still worked out. 

Shortly after it had been glazed, I cut it and ate a piece, partly to try it and partly to get a better picture. The flavor was good. It wasn’t overly intense with the grapefruit flavor. Which was kind of nice yet a little disappointing as the it seemed like there should be more. Granted, I ate a piece off of the end which may not have been soaked as much as the middle probably was. But I will never know. The issue, which was out of my control, was that I was the only person to eat any of this and all I ate was that one piece. 

How is that possible?  Well, every spring we seem to have an ant problem.  No matter what we do, we have a week or two (or three) where we have ants in the house. Small little buggers. Traps, bait, spray, stuff outside….doesn’t matter. In they come. So, despite putting this bread in a plastic, sealed container I still woke up the next noting to find some of the little buggers inside it. They are small little things and I guess they could get around the lid. That or it doesn’t seal as well as I thought. Anyway, I thought long and hard about still saving it as it appeared that they were contained on one end with some of the glaze but…….you can’t really take that risk. So into the trash it went. 

I would recommend trying this. I can’t say if I will try it again in order to actually eat some of it but we will see. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Cake and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grapefruit Poppyseed Loaf Cake with Yogurt Glaze

  1. This sounds interesting to me. I’m not a big grapefruit fan, but I love poppy seeds! I may need to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

