Creamy Pasta with Asparagus, Parmesan and Crispy Prosciutto 

  
I was going to talk about how sometimes it is okay to skip meat in a dish/meal and go with something like this recipe. But then it occurred to me that the presence of the prosciutto kind of eliminates that. You could certainly leave it out although I think it adds to the flavor. I did pick this recipe as it was a little something different. You can read it here

Overall, this turned out pretty well. At least it looks pretty good. I made one tweak to the recipe and that was using a tablespoon of dried basil in place of the 3/4 cup of fresh. I felt that the amount of dried basil worked really well, providing a good flavor without being overpowering. And I only used three ounces of prosciutto instead of four but that was fairly minor. 

The only downside to this, I felt, was that it wasn’t as creamy as it could be. The sauce, while good, wasn’t very substantial. You could at least double the sauce recipe to make sure the pasta is creamy. On a positive note, the sauce held up well for leftovers. Usually a cream based sauce tends to come apart once it has been cooled and reheated (at least in my experience). Maybe it worked because there wasn’t that much sauce to begin with. I don’t know. Either way, it was good and it worked. 

As I mentioned before, you could certainly leave the prosciutto out to make it meatless but I felt the saltiness of the prosciutto definitely added to the flavor of the dish. Getting a forkful of pasta, asparagus and prosciutto was a good flavor combination. 

This entry was posted in Pasta, Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

