Pineapple Shortbread Cakes

  
This falls squarely in the category of something that was pretty good but not quite worth the effort to make. And I say that knows that when I made it, there were a lot of steps. That’s why it took me so long to “finally” make it. This came out of the December 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine. You can read the recipe online here

Here is the basic issue I had with this – in the end, the 1/24 piece of shortbread that I rolled out was not big enough to handle a tablespoon of the pineapple filling. I can’t say why, but it wouldn’t roll up nicely and when I tried to then form it into a square, etc. it would fall apart. I switched to a smaller amount of pineapple but still had similar problems. 

My ultimate “fix” if you will, was to double the amount of shortbread while still using the smaller amount of pineapple (a heaping teaspoon). For those that I had alr day made, I wrapped another piece of shortbread around it. This resulted in me making half as many and having a lot of pineapple leftover. Which was fine BUT I went through all that work for half as many cakes. 

It was a little disappointing. Now, they were still good and didn’t last very long so there is an upside. I would recommend trying this, but keep in mind the effort for the end result. And yes, I picked the best ones to take a picture of. 

This entry was posted in Cake, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

