Grown Up Grilled Cheese with Cheddar and Shallot

  
Once upon a time, I talked about maybe finding a “specialty” with everything I cook and that maybe, grilled cheese could be it. Sadly, since then I’ve not done much in that category. Getting really good at something requires making it over and over and over. And while I’m okay with that, I have too many recipes to try. But maybe I’ll get there some day. This recipe was one of the grilled cheese recipes I found, way back when, when I first thought about making grilled cheese a specialty. I finally got around to making it. You can read the recipe here

This recipe was beneficial as it allowed me to use up some more of the Brie I had in the fridge as well as try something a little different. I made no changes to the recipe itself (big surprise, I know). I was able to find some aged cheddar, aged for about six months. I did buy some shallots to use, partly because I have another recipe that needs shallots, and I did buy some bread from the store, a “hearty white bread”, as indicated. It even said so on the package. 

I made these for lunch on a Sunday after church. To let the cheddar get to room temperature, I cut it up before leaving for church and put it in a bowl on the counter covered in plastic wrap. By the time we got home, a few hours later, it was warmed up. I chose to go with the dry white wine over the vermouth. Mostly because we had a bottle of moscato in he fridge that was already open (a homemade moscato at that). If that hadn’t been the case I would have likely used the vermouth. 

I made three sandwiches – one for me, one for my wife and one for the girls to split. And yes, even though this is a “grown up” grilled cheese, I gave it to my 5 and 7 year olds. They liked it. The butter/mustard mix was plenty for three sandwiches. It would have stretched if I would have made a fourth but it worked well with three. 

Overall, these were really good. The Brie and aged cheddar worked well together and neither were very overpowering from a flavor standpoint. The assembly worked well with mixing everything in the food processor. I’m not sure what I was expecting once I did it but the chunky paste that came out wasn’t it. I think I was expecting something a bit more liquid-y given the wine added but really, it’s not that much compared to the amount of cheese. I definitely recommend this. 

This entry was posted in Cheese and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

