Peanut Butter Honey Banana Bread

  
Awhile back I found a few recipes for different twists on your basic banana bread. Granted, there isn’t anything wrong with your standard banana bread but sometimes it is fun to try something different. This was certainly it. Different, that is. The flavor combination sounds a little odd but at the same time, you hear about peanut butter and banana sandwiches right?  Must not be that odd. Anyways, it was different enough to give it a try.  You can read the recipe here

I only made one change and that was to use creamy peanut butter in place of the chunky. I normally skip adding nuts to the breads such as these so I wasn’t going to add in peanut butter with nuts. It changed the consistency of the bread (obviously I suppose) in that it was smoother without the nuts. This bread came out much more like a loaf of regular bread, that your typical banana bread. Most likely due to the presence of the honey and peanut butter. 

Oh, and now that I’m thinking about it, there was one other change. I still have a bag of the Truvia sugar substitute and I opted to replace the white sugar with that. It basically cuts the amount you use in half,Mao it was 1/4 cups of the Truvia. I think it turned out fine. 

For the bananas, I used three of them. Probably one large, one medium and one small. That evens out to three medium, right?  In the end, I think I had more than a cup but I chose to dump it all in rather than measuring it out. I do have a “trick” of sorts for the bananas. If you have bananas that you haven’t gotten around to eating and are turning “bad” freeze them. They will keeps for quite awhile in the freezer just as they are (put them in, peel and all). Then take out what you need for the bread and let them thaw. Once they are thawed, they are basically mashed for you. There is very little effort in getting them incorporated into the rest of the mix. 

The bread turned out well. I let it bake the full 75 minutes, checking after 70 and deciding it could go a little longer. You can definitely taste the peanut butter. Not so much the honey but with everything else going on, something needs give. If you are looking for a different take on banana bread, I would suggest giving this a try. It took a little extra work, and a little extra time to bake it, but I’d say it was worth it. 

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

